Pineapple and ginger upside-down cake with homemade rum&raisin ice cream.

 

Following on from making the maple-bourbon honeycomb ice cream the other day I had half a tin of condensed milk left over and little idea what to do with it. The only thing I could think of was………. more ice cream. Yay. 

Using the same method (whipping 600ml of double cream and 200ml of condensed milk together and adding booze) as before it was then just a matter of figuring out what flavour to go for. It didn’t take too long, I just had to go for my favourite ice cream flavour – rum&raisin! Luckily I’d got a bottle of my favourite rum in the house; time to release The Kraken! 

  

After putting a healthy glug of rum in the cream mix and adding a few handfuls of raisins the ice cream was frozen overnight, the taken out about 1/4 hour before eating so that it softened slightly. 

I was trying to think of things to have with the ice cream, I knew it had to be a bit cakey but wasn’t sure what. Then I was browsing one of my many cookbooks and found a recipe for pineapple upside-down cake from one of my all time faves Tom Kerridge! That was that sorted then! 

  
I tweaked it slightly in I used caster sugar rather than light muscavado, not because I thought it would taste better or give a lighter coloured sponge but because I plain just didn’t have any in! I also didn’t add any rum to the batter purely because there was already a heroic amount in the ice cream. Hic! 

Golden syrup and crystalline ginger was put at the bottom of a small tin and then a pineapple ring was put onto that. The batter was poured over it to 3/4 the way up and put in an oven at 180c for about 15 minutes, or until a skewer comes out clean from the centre. It was then just a matter of trying to get the sod out of the tin and making it look as nice as possible with a drizzle of syrup over the top. A bit retro but proper handsome! 

Prep time: 30 mins

Cooking time: 15 mins for the sponge; freezing overnight for the ice cream 

9/10: Not a huge fan of pineapple, but this was really nice. Defo making it again but with just ginger instead. 

  

Leave a comment